Tag: Georgia Driver

By January 10, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

Does Georgia Have an Auto Insurance Point System?

Reader’s Question:

Does Georgia and Florida have the same point system? Does Georgia report speeding ticket to Florida?

Ben

Good Question.

Georgia is not part of the Drivers License Compact where the Florida is a member of, but the Georgia Driver’s services still sends licensed driver’s information to their home state of any conviction they will receive in the state of Georgia. So if you get convicted of speeding violation in Georgia, the court will still notify the state of Florida if that is where you are licensed.

If you receive a traffic ticket out of state and they receive that information, The Highway Safety and Motor Services will add the violation to your record, according to the Florida of Highway Safety Motor Services. 15 MPH or less or over lawful speed limit is 3 points and 16 MPH or more over the posted speed limit is 4 points in Florida.

It is noted in the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Services that it will not be allowed by the Florida Law for any school or program to remove the points for the ticket or any convictions that was received from another state. This means that you cannot take any Florida driving class or take any driving course to remove the ticket from Georgia or points that was assigned to your driving record.

Goodluck!

MariCAR

By January 10, 2014 0 Comments Read More →

How To Get a Learners Permit In Georgia

Reader’s Question:

I live in Georgia, I just want to know how can I get my learner’s permit?

Lisa

Good Question Lisa

Fifteen year olds can apply for the learner’s permit with their parents or with their guardians. A teenager should still be in school or must show proof of graduation before they can get their learner’s permit. Before you can apply for the learner’s permit, you will need the following requirements to the local driver’s license office:

1. certified birth certificate or birth registration
2. certified court papers showing adoption or name change if applicable
3. social security card
4. certificate of attendance that is signed by an official at your school
5. your parent or guardian will need to sign permission for you to obtain the learners permit
6. payment of $10 license fee

You will also need to take the written and vision test. You may study the Georgia driver’s manual so you can learn more about traffic laws , safety, traffic signals and other rules on the road.

Once you get your permit, it will be valid for 24 months. You should avoid getting a ticket at that time because your permit may be suspended even if you pay the fine.

Goodluck!

MariCAR